Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Reading Wish List-April 2014

         1. Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3) by Laini Taylor
Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #3)
First, of all look at that cover. It's so beautiful that I can't even stare directly at it. This is the final book in Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. I haven't read the other two books in the series yet, but now that all three of them are out, I cannot wait to get started on them.

2. The Here and Now by Ann Brashares
The Here and Now

A YA novel about a girl who travels from a post-apocalyptic future to try and prevent the plague that destroyed the planet. She does the one thing she absolutely must not do...she falls in love.

3. Prisoner of Night and Fog(Prisoner of Night and Fog #1) by Anne Blankman
Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog, #1)

Tells the story of a girl living in 1930s Munich whose uncle is none other than...Adolph Hitler. Give this book to me. Give it to me now. 

4. The Inventor's Secret (The Inventor's Secret #1) by Andrea Cremer
The Inventor's Secret (The Inventor's Secret, #1)

The first book in a new steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never happened and the British Empire is still going strong.

5. The Ring and the Crown (The Ring and the Crown #1) by Melissa de la Cruz
The Ring and The Crown

A YA fantasy filled with magic and royal intrigue. 

6. Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die #1) by Danielle Paige
Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die, #1)

A book that promises to put a super-fun twist on the beloved classic, The Wizard of Oz. In this YA novel, Dorothy is the villain. 

7. Great by Sara Benincasa

Another retelling of a beloved classic. This time it's The Great Gatsby. I love the striking cover.

8. Dark Eden (Dark Eden #1) by Chris Beckett
Dark Eden

A science fiction novel that takes place on an alien world. The cover reminds me of the world of Pandora from Avatar.

9. Steles of the Sky (Eternal Sky #3) by Elizabeth Bear
Steles of the Sky

I just bought the first book in this fantasy trilogy a few weeks ago. Now that the final book has been released, I cannot wait to read the entire series from start to finish. 

10. The Revolutions by Felix Gilman
The Revolutions

By the author of The Half-Made World, comes this novel that has been described as 'a sweeping tale of Victorian science fiction, space exploration, and planetary romance'.

11. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

A book about a boy that lives through multiple lives. It sounds very similar to Kate Atkinson's critically acclaimed novel, Life after Life.

12. Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy #1) by Danille L. Jensen
Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy, #1)

A YA fantasy that is said to appeal to fans of Graceling and Seraphina.

13. Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

An intriguing sci-fi debut about a girl living aboard a male-dominated spaceship.

14. Frog Music by Emma Donoghue
Frog Music

I loved Emma Donoghue's previous novel, Room. Her new historical novel takes place in 1870s San Francisco.

15. Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends #1) by Kelley Armstrong
Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends, #1)

This is probably one of the most highly-anticipated YA books coming out this month. It's a fantasy novel filled with legendary monsters, twin sisters with mysterious powers, and the souls of the damned. I've already ordered this book and I can't wait to tear into it.

16. A World Without Princes (The School for Good and Evil #2) by Soman Chainani
A World Without Princes (The School for Good and Evil, #2)

The second book in the Middle-Grade fantasy series, The School for Good and Evil. I haven't had a chance to read the first book yet but I hear it's fantastic. Also, I just love the covers.

17. The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler
The Forbidden Library

A brand-new fantasy series about books. Need I say more?

18. All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld
All the Birds, Singing

About a woman named Jake who lives alone with a disobedient collie and a flock of sheep, from one of Granta's Best Young British Novelists.

19. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrille Zevin
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

A novel that is said to be a love letter to books and reading. It is also Chapter's Indigo Spotlight for April.

20. Citizen Canine: Our Evolving Relationship with Cats and Dogs by David Grimm
Citizen Canine: Our Evolving Relationship with Cats and Dogs

A look into our relationships with our favorite companion animals. As an animal lover and a crazy cat lady, I'm very curious to read this book.

21. Living with a Wild God: A Nonbeliever's Search for the Truth About Everything by Barbara Ehrenreich
Living with a Wild God: A Nonbeliever's Search for the Truth about Everything

There aren't too many atheist/agnostic books written by women. I'm intrigued to read a skeptical viewpoint from a female perspective.

22. The Frangipani Hotel: Stories by Violet Kupersmith
The Frangipani Hotel: Stories

A book of linked tales based on traditional Vietnamese ghost stories.

23. Unwrapped Sky (Caeli-Amur #1) by Rjurik Davidson
Unwrapped Sky

A blend of science fiction and fantasy, with minotaurs, magic, and technology. And just look at that cover. Beautiful.

24. Tease by Amanda Maciel

About a teenage girl who faces criminal charges after a classmate she has bullied commits suicide. Sure to be a heart-breaking and thought-provoking read.

Aaaaahhhhh!!!!There are way too many books that I want to read and not enough time to read them!!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment